KP Sling and the Urban Pack

wp-1483798036303.jpg

Urban Pack ready for a trip to Auckland, New Zealand

As a traveler, and a man (man traveler), I need something to carry my various travel must-haves while on the plane and on an excursion.  Ladies  have an assortment of bags, totes, and purses, seemingly for every occasion–I may suffer from purse envy.  And men have backpacks? Okay, maybe it’s more messenger bag.  Or as the character, Cameron Tucker on Modern Family calls it, “tactical tote”. Luckily for us guys there are more and more choices beyond the ubiquitous backpack.  Don’t get me wrong; I just don’t need to carry a change of clothing with me along with my tablet, phone, battery charger, and a large bottle of water.  Over four trips I brought with me my KP Sling by Keep Pursuing and the Urban Pack by Loft of Cambie Design.  This is what I’ve discovered using these two man bags.

I bought the Urban Pack so I can transport my 11″ Samsung Chromebook on trips and on trips to the coffee shop.  Its dimensions are 13″ in length, 9″ in height, and 3.5″ in width.  On its first maiden voyage (to Paris, France), the Urban Pack held:

  • 11″ Chromebook
  • Its charger
  • Samsung Note 4
  • Its charger
  • Canon PowerShot SX700 HS
  • An extra battery for the camera
  • Maxway Power Bank 12000 mAh
  • Memory card reader
  • Mini tripod
  • Earbuds
  • Ear plugs
  • Passport
  • A pack of gum

In other words, I loaded the heck out of the Urban Pack.  On the flight to Paris, it was my small carry-on.  Packed as it was, I used it as a messenger bag, across my body.  It can also be used like a fanny pack, a shoulder bag, or a sling bag.  There is a security compartment where I stow my passport and cell phone.  While waiting in line for customs, reaching for my passport was easy.  The Urban Pack  continues to be my carry-on bag on all flights.

20170111_130059.jpg

Security compartment

20170111_125405.jpg

KP Sling

Whereas the Urban Pack is able to accommodate all those items, the KP Sling is made to be compact.  For this reason, I use the KP Sling for my out and about trips around a city.  The Sling is 14″ in length, 8″ in width, and 5″ in depth. Since I use the Urban Pack as my carry-on, I pack the Sling in my luggage during flight.  On the ground, I place the following in the KP Sling:

  • Passport
  • Samsung Note 4
  • Maxway Power Bank 12000 mAh
  • Canon PowerShot SX700 HS
  • Two memory cards
  • Mini tripod
  • An extra camera battery

In all honesty, the Sling is pushed to its capacity with the camera inside along with all the other contents. To provide more room, I have the camera in my hand instead–typically I’m taking pictures anyway while traipsing in a new place.

Much like the Urban Pack, the KP Sling also has a security compartment–completely out of general view.  Moreover, the KP Sling has a second security compartment, especially if I hide its zipper.  As an added defense against theft, the zippers can be placed in a loop which makes it very difficult to take out–trust me, it’s a pain trying to get it out so I can get at my phone or that extra battery for my camera.  The Sling is made with Cordura nylon, making it water resistant.  Equally the zippers are water resistant.

20170111_125913.jpg

Loop lock

In the final analysis, these two bags function well as a carry-on and the other as an everyday bag.

One thought on “KP Sling and the Urban Pack

Leave a Reply

